Breeda's Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
breeda1
White Belt
Languages: English (N) Esperanto (A2) Arabic (A1)

Breeda's Log

Postby breeda1 » Sat Feb 05, 2022 9:21 pm

I might as well start a log of my language learning journey so that I can better chart my progress and maybe receive some good community tips.

Anyways, the language I'm primarily trying to learn is Arabic. Right now I'm focusing on the Egyptian dialect. I hope to master MSA, the Levantine dialect, and the Gulf dialect someday, but all things in good time.
I have some experience with learning Arabic, but I've been mostly meandering around and not fully putting time into my study. That changes now.

As for my current progress, I'm currently watching an Egyptian show called Riesh Na3am (which means Ostrich Feathers or Soft Life depending on the translation) which is about a rich girl named Farida learning to go through her life without her father's wealth. So far I'm only at the 2nd episode and not much has happened plotwise (from what I can tell), but I have noticed some improvement to my listening ability.
I've been trying out Iversen's Bloodhound method to listen for words that I know or to listen for words that I'm pretty confident that I can isolate through implicit knowledge of Arabic's phonotactics and morphology. Right now I'm at the point where I'm starting to get better at hearing the possessive endings on certain nouns, even on nouns I know nothing about. Unfortunately, I have not gained this ability to analyze verbs.