MisterVimes learns Hebrew

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
MisterVimes
White Belt
Languages: Dutch (N), English, German, Hebrew
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17635

MisterVimes learns Hebrew

Postby MisterVimes » Tue Dec 28, 2021 7:22 pm

Hi all, long-time lurker here who’s finally getting herself the accountability she needs. I realized I started a German log years ago that went entirely unused, so here’s to a new, more successful attempt!

This time around I’m dedicating myself to Modern Hebrew. Over the years I’ve started learning many languages, but have never reached a decent level in any of them. The only languages I’m proficient in are the ones I started learning in school (English and German). Now I’m determined to make Hebrew the first language I learn primarily through self-study, hopefully to (at least) an intermediate level.

Why Hebrew? The main reason is that I’m converting to Judaism. I’m still in the early stages of the process, but I figured it would help if I got some studying in now. Biblical Hebrew would have made sense too, but I like having the option to speak with people and to watch movies etc. I figure there’s enough transfer to make the time I spend on MH at least somewhat useful for reading and understanding BH.

So far I’ve only dabbled, so I’m still a beginner. I did a bit of Duolingo until I got bored with learning food names and I am on lesson 25 of Assimil Hebrew. I have a few podcasts I listen to, plus some movies and shows on Netflix I plan to watch. If anyone reading this has any recommendations for media, please do let me know!

My first objective is to finish Assimil, supplemented with Anki flashcards and immersion with podcasts/Netflix. I may join a course or take iTalki lessons, but I’ll have to see when I have enough time and confidence for that.