Love and Portuguese

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
SophiaMerlin_II
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Portuguese (0)

Love and Portuguese

Postby SophiaMerlin_II » Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:18 am

So I have been falling in love with this Portuguese boy for many months now and it's not a thing but it still kind of is. :oops:

He has lived in the US most of his life, so speaks native level English, that's not an issue at all. But he recently (September) moved back to Portugal to stay with his family for a while (health issues) so we mostly communicate via Twitter, and most of the stuff he posts is in Portuguese.

At first reading it seemed impossible, but I forced myself to try anyway. It's feels like I'm reading Spanish and having a seizure at the same time. I've gotten way better at it than I really expected to, just by trying to read it, guess and check method. And of course I can just message him and ask if I get too confused. I can read about 65% of his tweets at this point without "cheating" but I'd like to be able to do more.

I was looking into the phonetics of Portuguese and... no me gusta :shock: wayyyy more complicated pronunciation than Spanish and to me it sounds really foreign. I thought it would sound something like Spanish or French but instead it sounds really opaque and foreign. I hope that doesn't sound bad, I don't mean it in a bad way.

He knows that I'm reading and interacting with his Portuguese tweets (and is pretty impressed with how I'm doing :oops: ) but he doesn't know I'm starting to try a bit more seriously.

I guess what everyone else on here says is really true: falling in love is the best motivation :lol: