kundalini's log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
kundalini
Orange Belt
Languages: English (C), Greek (low intermediate)

kundalini's log

Postby kundalini » Sat Apr 24, 2021 5:55 am

Hi all,

I thought I'd start a log to keep track of my progress in language learning. At the moment, I'm studying Korean, French, and Ancient Greek, mostly on a casual basis. This log, for now, will largely focus on my effort to read the Iliad in Greek. I've had several abortive attempts to read it before, so chances are pretty high that I won't finish it this time, either! But I am more committed this time around, and assuming that I'll get to the end, it will probably take me the better part of a year to do so.

Part of my fascination with the Iliad has to do with the subject matter. Then there is the music of the Iliad. I came across this recitation some years ago and have been enchanted ever since.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9RgBj59d9k

The resources I'm using to go through the Iliad are the following:

Audio: http://hypotactic.com/my-reading-of-hom ... -progress/
Some years ago, I purchased a recording of the Iliad by Stephen Daitz, but I can't locate it, and moreover prefer this free version read by David Chamberlain.

Text: https://www.amazon.com/Iliad-Parsed-Int ... 01K3L9CWM/
Interlinear text that parses every word and also translates each line into English, though not always accurately.
After going through a section, I also re-read it in a copy of Loeb's bilingual edition.

I just completed the first book, which took some three weeks and about 200 flashcards, and am currently on line 35 of book 2. I'm still haunted by this line:

βῆ δ' ἀκέων παρὰ θῖνα πολυφλοίσβοιο θαλάσσης

FINISHED PROJECTS:

SQL Pocket Guide: 315 / 315
Last edited by kundalini on Fri Apr 07, 2023 4:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
6 x
Iliad: 12 / 24

MorkTheFiddle
Black Belt - 2nd Dan