amarina's log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
amarina
White Belt
Languages: Russian (N) English (F) German (B1) French (A1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 03#p187703

amarina's log

Postby amarina » Thu Apr 22, 2021 2:17 pm

Hi!

I'm studying German and French. As my German has been around B1 - B1/B2 for far too long, I decided to brush it up on Duolingo, but now by studying French through it. Additionally, I'm using some French anki cards for German speakers. I encounter a lot of new words, which is to be expected, as I've always found grammar to be easier to study than vocabulary. Often the french word or phrase explains the meaning of its german translation to me, not the other way around. It makes me doubt that English belongs in the Germanic family.

I also listen to podcasts and youtube videos. I should probably do more reading, but I think it will wait until my vocabulary is a bit more substantial, as my latest attempt at reading Harry Potter in German required me to look up too many words to understand what's going on. I remember at some point around B2 level in English I was able to deduce words' meanings from context - not the other way around :D
8 x
Output Challenge 2021
: 582 / 15000 ~ write 15 000 words in German;
: 0 / 300 ~ record 300 minutes of audio in German;
: 0 / 5000 ~ write 5 000 words in French;

amarina
White Belt

Re: amarina's log

Postby amarina » Wed Apr 28, 2021 11:21 am

Following this https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 19&t=16803