Lou's language log (French, Japanese)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
handa
Yellow Belt
Languages: Swedish (N), English, French, Japanese, Albanian

Lou's language log (French, Japanese)

Postby handa » Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:55 pm

Remade: December 3rd, 2020

Hello, I'm Lou, a Swedish part-time student in her early twenties. I'm doing the humanities program at Komvux with a focus on language. Once the next year rolls around I'll be studying full-time, with the first courses of the year being French 4 and Japanese 2, which I'm really looking forward to.

My native language is Swedish. I also speak English but not much else. However, I've been studying French since 2014, Korean since 2015 and Japanese since about 2017. My language studies have been all over the place and I've never managed to be consistent for longer than a few months at a time. Albanian is my heritage language but my motivation to learn it wavers quite a bit.

Me as a learner:
I find myself drawn to grammar and grammar heavy approaches, even though that might be to my detriment. Any sort of social situation, both online and in real life, causes me a lot of anxiety so I don't get many oppurtunities to practice anything I learn. I'm probably not going to be writing in any languages other than English or Swedish because I don't have much confidence in my abilities. I've found that I do better with exercise-heavy textbooks and that I require more structure in the learning material that I use compared to a lot of members on this forum. I've tried extensive reading and the like and it's a fast way to make my confidence as well as my enthusiasm plummet. However, I do need to find ways to work on my listening comprehension as that's always lagging behind.
Last edited by handa on Sat Jan 09, 2021 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
10 x

handa
Yellow Belt

Re: Lou's language log (French, Japanese)

Postby handa » Thu Dec 03, 2020 12:18 am