Japanese Language Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
genini1
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Japanese

Japanese Language Log

Postby genini1 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:36 pm

About 10 years ago now I started a language learning log on the old how to learn any language forum. At that point I'd had a year of German in high school a year of French in college and had on and off self taught myself Japanese, but to a not very high level. I had very ambitious plans where I would learn Japanese quickly before also taking on French, Italian, German and more. And as is a very common story in this community my plans fell apart after less than a month. A large part of it being due to new obligations from work, but another large part being despair at the slowness of my progress. Multiple languages meant I was making little progress in any of them.

Over the years I would, once a year or so, pull out my old language materials so lovingly stored. Clean up my desk, get everything set up just right, and really buckle down and study thinking that this time would be different. And inevitably it wasn't different. I usually made it a few days maybe a week before giving up. I never even consciously gave up. It was just that I would sort of stop and the thought of learning just wouldn't occur to me again for months.

Recently (about two months) I made the decision to begin learning again. My work situation had become one where I had more free time than I previously had and I had found a cheap ticket to Japan for next year. I now had a definite end date for learning and I had the time to devote to the process. Even still I had burned myself enough times before that I wasn't sure I wouldn't quit again so I decided to wait two months to make sure I was dedicated this time.