Log: Spanish and German

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Zenman
White Belt
Languages: I speak: English (N) and Spanish (B1)
I'm studying Japanese
I plan to study: French, German, and Italian

Log: Spanish and German

Postby Zenman » Thu May 28, 2020 6:50 am

Hello, all I have made this log to go back to the basics and focus on what's important. I spend most of my time working on my weaker language which is German I'm basically a beginner still however I plan to change that. I'll speak to this in a moment.

As for my Spanish, I was raised bilingual but like most people, I haven't really worked on it. I just said to myself well I could understand people and I could explain myself to others in Spanish if necessary. But it is obvious that I don't practice at all when I speak. Therefore even though I have a high amount of passive vocabulary and grammar knowledge I want to work to go back to how I used to speak when I was younger. As many of us know there is an abundance of resources out there therefore I will focus on things I want to improve. Which is as follows increasing overall vocabulary, reading comprehension, listening skills, and speaking. Therefore the tools I'll use will be aimed at this.

Spanish Tools:
1) Assimil: A lesson per day.
2) Reading books: Currently reading Harry Potter.
3) Audiobooks/Podcasts/TV: Audiobook: 7 habits of highly effective people. Podcast: Unlimited Spanish TV: The Pier/ Elite
4) Memrise/Clozemaster: Don't use this as much because this is low-intensity work yield low results with a high investment of time.
5) Anki: This will be used when I find a new vocabulary that I want to know and phrases.

I will speak briefly to what I've done in the past month that helped immensely improve my speaking/listening/reading comprehension: