Just Study German Already!

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
BigZmoak
Languages: German (false beginner)

Just Study German Already!

Postby BigZmoak » Sun May 24, 2020 6:45 pm

Hi everyone,

I thought I'd keep a log here to hold myself accountable for my German study. I studied it somewhat seriously a few years ago and got to an intermediate level. On a short stay in Berlin I was able to get by without people switching to English. Back home, German tourists to my town would compliment me on my German, particularly my accent. That was 3 or 4 years ago.

Work and other hobbies got in the way and I failed to keep up German... stupid! If only I could go back and implore my lazy self to maintain contact with the language :cry: . Anyway, that's the past. In this log you'll read about my attempts to pick it up again as a false beginner.

I'm going to go back to the basics by using Assimil German with Ease . It served me well in the past and I remember really enjoying its content. I have further resources which I will mention in the future.

I'm planning to spend 2 hours studying each day with a break on Sundays. My short-term plan is as follows:

Review the sounds of German with Fluent Forever YouTube Videos (first 3 days)
    Go over the spelling rules of German, paying particular attention to writing short vs long vowels (first week)
    1-2 lessons (seems conservative for now) of Assimil German with Ease a day
    Reading on LingQ (20 mins a day)
As I get a feel for the language again the above outlined plan will be tweaked more or less to better use my 2 hours daily. I plan to add watching Netflix and Youtube videos into the mix sooner rather than later.

I begin tomorrow!

I welcome any comments or questions you may have. That's it for now - I'm off to read some of your logs!

BigZmoak
15 x

jeffers
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: English (N), Hindi (A2-B1)