Jeffers' German, French and Hindi

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
jeffers
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: English (N), Hindi (A2-B1)

Learning: The above, plus French (A2-B1), German (A1), Ancient Greek (?), Sanskrit (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19785

Jeffers' German, French and Hindi

Postby jeffers » Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:50 pm

It's been a while since I've been on the forums but I've been working fairly steadily with French (mostly reading and listening to podcasts). However, I am going to Munich for a long weekend in May, so as usual my next trip is refocusing my language interests and I started studying German in earnest during the Christmas holidays.

My main resources for German, which I'm using almost every day:
  • Assimil L'allemand (which is also helping me keep my French active)
  • Duolingo (because a few of my friends who are going to Munich are using it as well)
  • Easy Readers by Brian Smith (I'm listening to a story or two every day on my commute, and read a story or two every few days)

Assimil L'allemand is a fairly new edition (2016 I believe) and so far it is very good. It has a couple of features I haven't seen in other Assimil courses which I quite like: many lessons have a paragraph or two of general language or cultural comments which are interesting additions, and the weekly review chapters have dialogues.

So far I've only gotten to Assimil lesson 34 since Christmas, so I guess I've averaged about one lesson every two days. I'd rather complete a lesson well (e.g. take two sessions) than complete one every day but not really practice everything. One thing I have done is to review the previous week's dialogues (reading out loud) and mentally completing the fill in the blank exercises before working through the weekly review. I also often review the audio of previous lessons while walking the dog or other similar activities.