Snowflake's Mandarin Log - Continued

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
snowflake
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Mandarin (intermediate)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1292

Snowflake's Mandarin Log - Continued

Postby snowflake » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 pm

http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/fo ... 11518&PN=1

From the 1st page of my HTLAL log (6 August 2008), " Some background....I spoke Toishanese as a child and “lost” most of my knowledge of that dialect growing up. For my college language requirement, I took Mandarin. I struggled through and promptly forgot most of it after graduating. About 10-12 years ago I started learning spoken Cantonese using the then brand new Pimsleur material. The effort moved around my brain furniture and affected my ability to do my job. So I had to give that up. About a year ago I started learning spoken Cantonese again using Pimsleur, though the updated version. I didn’t get very far before leaving to visit Hong Kong and mainland China, last fall. My cousin, with whom we stayed in Hong Kong, said it was better to learn Mandarin instead of Cantonese. Since I hadn’t made enough of a dent in learning Cantonese, in Dec I switched to working on spoken Mandarin."

And for context, I'm an older person. When I took Mandarin in college, our text books used Yale romanization. The DeFrancis series was available and Heisig's "Remembering the Kanji" had just come out.
Last edited by snowflake on Sun Apr 10, 2016 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2 x

snowflake
Orange Belt

Re: Snowflake's Mandarin Log - Continued

Postby snowflake » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:58 pm

When HTLAL went down, thought that I'd stop writing my occasional blurbs and just be heads down working on Mandarin. Well I'm finding that mulling in English, at least for now is something I need to do. Of course, then I debated whether to post this in my HTLAL log or join this forum.