Esperanto Journey

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
chobbs
White Belt
Languages: English (N), French, Esperanto

Esperanto Journey

Postby chobbs » Sat Sep 05, 2015 4:09 am

Decided I would get a log started as it seemed a good place to dump my thoughts as I and the family work through getting to fluency in Esperanto.

Background
Earlier this year my youngest son announced that he had decided that he wanted to learn Japanese. My oldest son had been studying German for awhile, and I had been working on French for a couple years. My wife had nothing but high school Spanish, of which we had both taken a few years, and she felt like learning a language was not in the cards for her at all. Trying to get my youngest going with Japanese was quite a chore as my wife had zero interest in it, and although I would like to learn it at some point, it wouldn't be on my radar for quite some time. Since we were not going to be able to help him along we talked about various ways of turning our family multi-lingual in the easiest possible manner.

Ultimately we decided to all learn Esperanto. Here is a link to the original thread over at the old HTLAL. This goal would get us all to fluency in a language other than English, something that had eluded me thus far in French, in the quickest possible manner. We would get an extra boost for our subsequent languages (especially the Romance family) and it would be a great way to ease into things for my youngest. The end goal being that we use Esperanto for all of our family communication until we learn languages that overlap with others in the family and then we would speak with that person in the shared language.

This was something that we all discussed for quite awhile before diving in a few months ago (June 2015). I put my French studies on hold, and my oldest did the same for his German.

Family Status