Guyome's log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
guyome
Blue Belt
Languages: French (N)

Guyome's log

Postby guyome » Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:33 pm

I can't post links yet (if I understood the forum rules correctly) so I thought it might be best to begin this log with a short overview of the languages I am studying/using at the moment (I will list resources in another post). Of course, these short introductions cannot do justice to the relatively complex socio-linguistic situations these languages find themselves in, they are only very broad strokes and I hope I'll be able to add more flesh and nuances in future posts.

Occitan
Occitan is the language I will try and focus on for the next few weeks. Once the main language in what is now southern France, it held out reasonably well there up to the first half of the 20th c. but has since declined sharply and it can now be said to have been replaced by French. There are still quite a few speakers around, especially among older rural generations, but it's probably not a language you'll hear very often unless you make a point of attending specific events. A timid revival of some sort has been taking place in some circles since the 1960/70s and despite the overall dire linguistic situation, books are still published, radio and TV shows are still produced. Despite this, it seems to me Occitan remains in a very precarious state. There is also the fact that the loss of traditional Occitan speaking communities means that L2 speakers may become the main carriers of the language in the very near future, which may in turn lead to even more French influence on Occitan as far as vocabulary, syntax and phonology are concerned.

Manchu