2020: Learn Hard With a Vengeance [DE, ZH, ES, KO, GD]

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
LunaMoonsilver
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), German (C1), Mandarin Chinese (B1), Spanish (A2), Polish (A0)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17648

2020: Learn Hard With a Vengeance [DE, ZH, ES, KO, GD]

Postby LunaMoonsilver » Thu Jan 02, 2020 10:41 am

Last year's log can be found here. Like most years, I started off strong and then it dwindled... but the 365-day language challenge kept me learning every day (although I 'missed' a few days, on almost all of them I still studied; I just didn't make it to half an hour) and I'm hoping I'll do even better this year.

I've got two main things going on this year: the languages I'm studying in-depth (listed in the log title above) and a project I've set up for myself to learn the basics of 20 endangered languages in 2020. It's an ambitious one, of course, but as last year was the International Year of Indigenous Languages, I want to keep some momentum going and investigate new languages.

My Main Study Languages

German
Goal: C2
I need to work on my active skills, so I've joined the Output Challenge and, since I'm now living in London, attending meetups should be a bit easier. I'd also like to get into the habit of reading regularly because I do see a lot of progress from that; I just can sometimes be lazy about it.

Smaller Goals:
  • Read 12 novels.
  • Write 50,000 words.
  • Attend one language exchange per month.
  • Record 50 hours of speech.

Mandarin
Goal: HSK 6
This one's a bit of a stretch goal but I'd like to reach it—and I plan to sit the exam, too, either at the end of 2020 or the beginning of 2021. I also want to keep going with the habit of studying Mandarin every day that I built up last year. Plus, reading: I'm bad at it, so it's time to get better.

Smaller goals:
  • Work through NPCR 4-6.
  • Practise reading.