Tagalog + Swedish

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
crush
Blue Belt
Languages: EN (N), ES, ZH
Maintain: EUS, YUE, JP, HAW
Study: TGL, SV
On Hold: RU

Tagalog + Swedish

Postby crush » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:47 pm

Euskara / Basque
It's been a dream of mine to learn Basque and i've finally found myself in a situation where i can dedicate myself to learning it nearly full-time. I've been in Donostia for the past few months and will be here at least until the end of June. I'm currently studying in an euskaltegi (a school specifically for teaching adults Basque) at the B2 level. My speaking is still very rough, but my comprehension has improved considerably these past few months. Since i got here in September i've read about 10-15 books in Basque and listened to the radio on my way to and from class, about 50 minutes a day, alongside my daily classes (3 hours). I was under the perception that Basque was spoken and understood by the majority of the people here which unfortunately is not the case, however i generally try to speak Basque with someone first and have been able to get around pretty well speaking just Basque. I hear most parents around my age speaking to their children in Basque which always makes me happy. I'd love to be able to help make the language more accessible to other people, both in and outside of the Basque Country. I really love this place.

Egiten ari naizena / What i'm doing
[*]Lots of reading.
[*]3 hours of class at the euskaltegi Monday through Friday
[*]Around 50 minutes of listening to the radio on Tuesdays and Thursdays, 25 minutes MWF.
[*]An "irakurketa erraza" (easy reading) group once a week. [-completed-]
[*]"Mintzalaguna" (literally, speaking friend, i.e. meeting in a group with a native Basque speaker to chat in Basque for an hour) once a week.

Epe motzeko helburuak / Short-term goals
[*]Become much more comfortable reading.