Caromarlyse’s log (French/German/Portuguese/Russian/Welsh)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Caromarlyse
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), French (C1-ish), German (B2/C1-ish), Russian (B1-ish), Portuguese (B1-ish), Welsh (complete beginner), Spanish (in hibernation)
(All levels estimates and given as a guide only)

Caromarlyse’s log (French/German/Portuguese/Russian/Welsh)

Postby Caromarlyse » Fri Dec 06, 2019 2:39 pm

Hello! I’ve been browsing the forum for a few months and thought I’d join to benefit from the knowledge around here, for some community, and to keep me honest! I’m English, based in the UK, now doing a job that requires me to use English quite academically each day but also leaves a fair bit of free time for outside interests. Which is where foreign languages come in! I left secondary school with French, German and Spanish at the same level (though I’d studied them for different lengths of time). I then studied French and German at university and worked in France for a while. Thanks to other massive time commitments from graduation to now, I haven’t used much of any of them for years: the occasional French and German on trips, an abandoned German course, and quite a lot of Spanish at work for a while (also a long time ago now, really) when there was no other option.

I’ve been trying to revive them over the past few months, French in particular. With the new year approaching, what better time to set some goals for the next year?!

FRENCH
I want to aim to get certified at C2 level by the end of 2020. My motivation is both personal and professional: I don’t want to lose the skill and enjoy it in any case, and also want to have professional options open to me that having the certificate (and having better French!) would provide. My framework of tasks currently looks like the following: