More Korean than Japanese in 2022 - 2023

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
kraemder
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
Japanese (JLPT N2)
German (read several books)
Spanish (read a couple books)
Korean (studying for about a year semi seriously)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1204

More Korean than Japanese in 2022 - 2023

Postby kraemder » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:08 am

I decided to make a separate log from my Japanese log. I think I want to log a lot more about Korean since it’s a new language to me and it needs the extra attention. I’m not currently studying Japanese but I’m using it regularly instead I would say.. reading books (rarely looking up words and never saving words to study later), watching anime, listening to NHK in the morning on my way to work, and chatting with people online both texting and sometimes video or voice.

But I’m studying Korean. Because I can’t use it yet :x . By studying I mean I’m using flashcards and to have grammar or textbooks that need reviewing. I’ve recently signed up with a tutor on italki and I’m trying another tomorrow morning. The one I have is ok but I wanted to try someone who speaks Japanese too. It seems there’s quite a few who do. I don’t know how much difference it will make. My tutor I do have wants to make me talk and I’m game but I don’t know what she’s going to throw at me until she does because I don’t have the book. She’s using talk to me in Korean lessons and I think she has the book they sell. I might go to the website to see how to get a copy. I don’t want a paper copy though. I find paper is cumbersome and well costs more to ship from Korea.