Evita's Korean and Other Languages

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Evita
Orange Belt
Languages: I speak: Latvian, English, Russian, German
I study: Korean
I'm slowly forgetting: Spanish, Finnish, French
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1141

Evita's Korean and Other Languages

Postby Evita » Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:04 pm

I had three logs on HTLAL so this will be my fourth one. The first one was mostly about Finnish, the second and third ones were mostly about Korean, and this one will focus on Korean as well (for now). I don't feel the need to document my progress on a very detailed level like I did in the beginning of my Korean studies, but it will be nice to post some thoughts and findings and accomplishments here.

I started studying Korean in March 2012 so it's been three and a half years already. I've learned a lot of Korean in this time but my progress has been pretty slow. I don't have any classes or deadlines, I'm studying on my own and at my own pace. My goal is to someday be fluent in Korean, but the first goal is to be able to watch Korean dramas without subtitles so I am prioritizing listening comprehension over active skills.

Many people ask me why I am studying Korean, and it's not an easy question to answer. My first exposure to the language was through the TV show Lost, and I found the sound of the language curious - as if people were whining or complaining all the time. Then in 2012 I was unemployed for a while and looking for an exotic language to learn (all my previous languages had been European ones) and I settled on Korean. At first I wasn't sure how long I would keep it up, I just wanted to do a couple of TTMIK levels and figure out how the language works, but somehow Korean grabbed me very quickly and I've been exploring it ever since.