alaart's log (Chinese, Korean)

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
alaart
Green Belt
Languages: DE (N), EN
B1: NL, JP, PT (BR), ZH
A2: KR
A1: ES
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... hp?t=10867

alaart's log (Chinese, Korean)

Postby alaart » Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:21 am

I study rather unstructured and just dig into material spontaneously. I tend to learn a lot of new things, but I often don't review said material. So by making this language log I hope to get a clearer understanding of myself and improve my learning process.

Japanese: (upper Intermediate)
I'm studying Japanese in university for my 3rd year now, and I will be studying in Japan for a year starting next month.

Goals:
My main goal is to expand my vocabulary dramatically, grammar I will hopefully continue to learn in class. I should do more reading, and learn to speak Keigo. I'm aiming for fluency eventually, which I would define as casually reading books, and watch movies without any problems. - since written Japanese is still frustrating me, I assume still have a very long way to go.

Recent study:
I watched a bit of Japanese Netflix drama, translated some songs, and I'm working with a Japanese language partner. I started learning the basics of Kansai-Dialect, going through the website kansaiben.com, and through some youtube material, as well as trying to speak the dialect with a teacher on iTalki. That said, the results weren't good, and I can't quite get away from standard Japanese, tend to forget the Kansai grammar, pitch accent etc. again rapidly.

Chinese: (lower intermediate)
I was attending a language course for 1,5 years but quit in February, and since then have stopped learning grammar, and writing Hanzi. I use the traditional characters.

Goals: