e.z.b's spanish log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
e.z.b.
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (beginner)

e.z.b's spanish log

Postby e.z.b. » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:52 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to the HTLAL forum, but I've been browsing (here and the original site) and have been super impressed by all the information out there. I recently started learning spanish & I figured I'd post my attempt here and see if I could benefit from the advice of all the other language learners out there. I'm planning a trip to Peru for the fall, and I have a lot of free time in the meantime, so I'm trying to see how much of a base I can give myself before I get there -- I plan to do a 1 week (or so) immersion class once I get over there, but I don't have time to do anything longer.

I started two weeks ago, more or less following the advice of Gabriel Wyrner in Fluent Forever. So far this has been my approach:

- I've gone through his Spanish pronunciation trainer on Anki (working on minimal pairs, pronunciation, & spelling rules)

- I've made Anki picture flaschards complete with sound bytes for all 625 of the words on his base list & have begun learning most of them -- as of tomorrow I will have been introduced to all of them, and about 5% so far are at the 'mature' stage, the rest are in the learning process but I've had no problem remembering them so far

- I'm reading Harry Potter y la Piedra Filosofal while listening to the audiolibro -- I'm almost exactly halfway through, reading more or less extensively except for looking up the occasional word. I know the books super well in english, so I'm able to understand most of what I'm reading

- I've watched the first 10 episodes of Destinos. It's a little slow, but fun!