G’s Russian / Spanish Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
gpd9eq
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (C1), Spanish (A1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=10461

G’s Russian / Spanish Log

Postby gpd9eq » Sat May 04, 2019 7:05 pm

Всем привет!

Finally picking up language learning again, something I’ve really missed the last couple years. I studied Russian for 4 years in college, including an opportunity to study abroad, and eventually earned an ILR 3 rating (C1 equivalent) - something I am incredibly proud of! I’m happy to say that, while my speaking abilities have definitely suffered, my reading ability is still pretty sharp. My goal is simple - I just want to refresh my Russian. I have a variety of textbooks, grammars, dictionaries (including access to etymologies, exciting!) which I’ll be perusing. I’ll also be doing Duolingo because, while it isn’t the best independent resource, I find it quite fun and great for refreshing a lot of basic vocab and concepts. My goal is to max out the entire Russian Duolingo tree at level 5.

I’ve also been itching to learn a new language, and I also have a small amount of Spanish material here at home. My primary goal is to be able to read Spanish at an advanced level, and eventually being able to listen to Spanish at an advanced level. Speaking the language is, for now, a lower priority for me. I’ll be using a book called “Spanish for Reading” primarily, with Duolingo as an additional resource. I’ve also been listening to the CoffeeBreakSpanish podcast while going to/leaving from work.

Currently here is my progress: