Ariel's Spanish Log

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
Ariel
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Esperanto (C2), Spanish (B2), Japanese (B2), German (B2), French (B1), Chinese (A1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=10347

Ariel's Spanish Log

Postby Ariel » Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:02 pm

I've been learning Spanish seriously since August 2017. I did Duolingo before then, but I don't consider that real study. I started off properly with Language Transfer, and then I delved in heavily into comprehensible input. I found Español Automático and Radio Ambulante on LingQ, with the transcripts, and they got me to the level where I could start using native materials. After that, I did loads of reading - at one point I was doing three hours a day regularly on my commute.

As for my current level, it's hard to say. I've read over 1,500,000 words and I feel very confident reading and listening to clear-spoken material. I can express myself well in conversation, but at a fairly slow rate. I watched the first episode of Aquí No Hay Quién Viva, and could understand about 50% of the language. Once our wifi is up and running (long story - UK people, avoid TalkTalk like the plague!), I plan to marathon it to complement my literature-heavy approach.

It's probably quite obvious, but I don't believe explicit grammar study plans a large role in acquisition. I've only dabbled in Spanish grammar, which is pretty funny because when I do online tests I get told I have A2 grammar but if you read my blog posts below you can see that I am definitely above that. A lot of grammar that those tests target is much lower frequency than people actually realise.