What techniques do you use to improve TL pronunciation / accent?

General discussion about learning languages
drp9341
Orange Belt
Languages: Native: English (US)
C1/C2: Spanish, Italian
B2+: Portuguese
B2: French, Polish
A1: Russian, German
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=5978

What techniques do you use to improve TL pronunciation / accent?

Postby drp9341 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:14 am

I've never really seen this talked about all that much.

I'll usually...
(this is after feeling "pretty comfortable" with the spoken language, as a beginner, I listen and babble. I can't hear my own mistakes at the beginner level.)
Then I'll use Anki for shadowing, recording my voice, comparing it to a native speaker, and trying to get it to match(if I can.) I also look up the IPA to get a rough idea of how to articulators move.

Later on, at higher levels, I usually experiment with "posturing" my articulators in differently, to see if I can correctly articulate with more ease if my "resting posture" is different. I'll even look at native speakers tongues and jaw when speaking, and try to deduce from that what I can do to improve my pronunciation.

I continue to use Anki, even for Italian and Spanish, especially if I feel like I am forgetting the "sound" of the language. When I say forgetting the sound, think of it like the way you "hear in your head" a song you haven't listened to in ages, and you have a distorted sense of it's rhythm, only realizing, "I can hardly sing along!" when you hear the song on the radio.

Of course, the more advanced stuff is always after having acquired a good ear for the language; when I am able to hear small mispronunciations. Unless, I have a trusted native speaker to help me with this in the beginning.