What did you suddenly realize you'd been pronouncing wrong?

General discussion about learning languages
Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

What did you suddenly realize you'd been pronouncing wrong?

Postby Deinonysus » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:20 pm

I recently learned that the ñ sound in Spanish (also gn in French and Italian) is spelled "nh" in Portuguese. Yesterday I came across the word "piranha" and realized that it should be pronounced like "piranya".

I was watching some German baking videos the other day and heard them talking about Hefe (pronounced HAY-fuh). I looked it up and saw that it meant "yeast". After around 20 minutes of baking videos, I realized that I'd been mispronouncing the beer style "Hefeweizen" all my life. I had been pronouncing Hefe with a short e (like heffe). I started learning German almost five years ago. :shock:

Last week I saw that my Vietnamese coworker was eating a sandwich on a baguette and asked if it was a banh mi, pronouncing "banh" as in Autobahn. He looked confused for a second and asked, "Oh, bánh mì?" I thought he was messing with me at first because it sounds just like the English phrase "bang me". He also informed me that bánh mì just means bread.
5 x
/daɪ.nə.ˈnaɪ.səs/

MamaPata
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), French (C1*), Russian (B1), Spanish (B1).

Long lost: Arabic and Latin.
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3004

Re: What did you suddenly realize you'd been pronouncing wrong?

Postby MamaPata » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:01 pm

Most of my native language.
7 x
Corrections appreciated.

Random Review
Green Belt
Languages: En (N), Es (int), De (pre-int), Pt (pre-int), Zh-CN (beg), El (beg), yid (beg)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 75#p123375

Postby Random Review » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:17 pm