What do you think of Supermemo?

General discussion about learning languages
stef11
Languages: I am a teacher of English

What do you think of Supermemo?

Postby stef11 » Mon Oct 01, 2018 5:36 pm

I've been using Supermemo to learn foreign languages.
0 x

MrPenguin
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (advanced)

Re: What do you think of Supermemo?

Postby MrPenguin » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:00 pm

I too use SuperMemo, though mostly because of nostalgia. When I originally started looking into study methods while attending university back in 2005, Anki was not yet a thing, and SuperMemo was what you got if you wanted to use spaced repetition software. Due to various circumstances, I stopped using it for years, and when I started studying languages again back in 2011, Anki was my software of choice. Still, I've given up on Anki (and spaced repetition) several times, each time after a couple of months of overuse and getting swamped with repetitions. The last time I used anki was in January-March.

Then, on a whim, after reading up on the algorithm used in Anki compared with the more recent SuperMemo versions, I decided to try SuperMemo again, and have been using it to learn Japanese characters since mid-June. For once, I haven't gone overboard with adding stuff to it, and it seems I've finally established a routine of at the very least doing my daily repetitions (which, even though I'm adding less stuff, seem to be fewer in number than what I expected to get based on my experience with Anki). The user interface is an ugly mess, but I learned how to use it back in 2005-2006, so there was no adjustment for me coming from Anki.