French sayings/idioms/proverbs

General discussion about learning languages
SophieRandall
Languages: English (N)
French (A-levels study)
Hungarian (beginner)

French sayings/idioms/proverbs

Postby SophieRandall » Sat Sep 29, 2018 8:14 pm

I'm currently studying French A-level and I want to expand my knowledge of common French sayings/idioms/proverbs. So if you know any please post them below with the literal translation and the meaning. :)
0 x

Speakeasy

Re: French sayings/idioms/proverbs

Postby Speakeasy » Sat Sep 29, 2018 9:17 pm

French (Québec): Ah, oui? Aimerais-tu un petit sandwich avec ça? Ou, encore mieux, tu peux toujours copier et coller toi-même! :D
English: Oh,ya? Would you like a small sandwich with that? Better still, you can always copy/paste! :D

French Idioms - Wiktionary
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Appendix:French_idioms#T

French Proverbs - Wikiquote
https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/French_proverbs

Speakeasy’s Opinion on Learning Idiomatic Expressions, Proverbs, Aphorisms, Common Phrases, and the Like
Idiomatic expressions abound. While some have been in more-or-less constant use for centuries, others do not outlive the generation that popularized them. Every language has literally thousands of them. Some exist only in certain regions of country whereas others exist only within a given socio-economic-cultural sub-set of the population of native speakers.

I do not believe that memorizing a long list of colloquial expressions, even those drawn from a collection of the more frequently-occurring ones, would be a good use of your study time. If you’re not already encountering them in your conversations, in the audio-visual media that you regularly watch or listen to, or in the literature and in whatever other reading material you frequently consult, then you’re unlikely to remember them. Loading Anki with these expressions won’t help either.