Michel Thomas vs. Pimsleur

General discussion about learning languages
Zenman
White Belt
Languages: I speak: English (N) and Spanish (B1)
I'm studying Japanese
I plan to study: French, German, and Italian

Michel Thomas vs. Pimsleur

Postby Zenman » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:34 pm

In my local Library we have good up to date of both Michel Thomas and Pimsleur programs. I haven't had any experience with either so I wanted to know if I was to borrow one of these which one is best worth my time. I'm learning Korean and German at the moment I think this information might be of importance.
2 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Michel Thomas vs. Pimsleur

Postby rdearman » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:51 pm

I would be inclined to pick Pimsleur if it was me. I've had a good experience with the Pimsluer Mandarin, and not so much with the MT stuff for Mandarin.
1 x
: 0 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

WalkingAlone13
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N) German (B2) Finnish (beginner) Swedish (beginner) Polish (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... f=15&t=742

Postby WalkingAlone13 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:56 pm

Can you not take out both? I cannot speak for Korean, but as regards German I started with Pimsleur German 1, then by the time I finished those thirty lessons I started using Michael Thomas and Pimsleur German 2 concurrently to very good effect. Of course it can be very draining to do so much listening in a day, but I really do give both these resources a lot of credit for the progress I made at the start of my German journey.
1 x

leosmith
Brown Belt
Spanish (adv)
French (int)
German (int)
Japanese (int)
Korean (int)
Mandarin (int)
Portuguese (int)
Russian (int)
Swahili (int)
Tagalog (int)
Thai (int)

Postby leosmith » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:59 pm