Some questions about learning French

General discussion about learning languages
RubiksKid
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (3,000 - 5,000 words), Japanese (~2,500 words), French (~3,000 words), Chinese (complete beginner, >100 words)

Some questions about learning French

Postby RubiksKid » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:50 am

(You can skip the first two paragraphs.)

Hello everybody. I’m considering learning French sometime within the next two years and I’ve got a few questions if anybody has some time. First, though, I think a little background information might be helpful. I’m currently a junior chemical engineering student, but I’ve found that I really enjoy learning languages. I’ve become reasonably proficient at Spanish and I recently started learning Japanese through self study. I’ve been going to school full-time, but as of next semester I’m probably just going to be part-time that way I can allot more time for other things I enjoy.

Anyway, I’d like to start learning French once I’ve developed a strong language core in Japanese. For Spanish I used Rosetta Stone along with a dictionary, some books, and several online resources. I also ended up taking a college class (4th-semester Spanish). I’m currently doing something similar with Japanese, and I’m thinking about doing the same thing when I start learning French. If possible, I would like to take a class, but taking classes that don’t count toward my degree while taking engineering classes and working is pretty rough, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to do that.

All right, well that was a little longer than I expected. Here are my questions: