How to learn English punctuation?

General discussion about learning languages
Ольга
Green Belt
Languages: English, French, German, Greek, Portuguese
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=6206

How to learn English punctuation?

Postby Ольга » Mon May 15, 2017 3:31 pm

It is my weak point. What do you think? How do you learn punctuation in other languages?
0 x
Output Challenge 2018
Hours of Recorded Speech: 0 / 50
Words: 4732 / 50000

aaleks
Blue Belt
Languages: Russian (N)

Re: How to learn English punctuation?

Postby aaleks » Mon May 15, 2017 4:19 pm

Ольга wrote:It is my weak point. What do you think? How do you learn punctuation in other languages?

The same way I learned it in my native language - common sense and reading. Probably, I often leave commas out or/and misuse them, but I'm just learning (c) I hope you know this quote from Золушка ;)
2 x

Speakeasy

Postby Speakeasy » Mon May 15, 2017 5:29 pm

If you are wishing to learn English punctuation, you might wish to consider any of the books dedicated to this subject and that are available via the large online booksellers such as:

Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_pg_1?rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Aenglish+punctuation&keywords=english+punctuation&ie=UTF8&qid=1494869040&spIA=162315796X

AbeBooks
https://www.abebooks.com/servlet/SearchResults?sortby=7&tn=english+punctuation

Punctuation is a matter of both "style" and "grammar" and, as for any other element of language, it has served as grist for the mills of the descriptivists.
4 x

MamaPata
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), French (C1*), Russian (B1), Spanish (B1).

Long lost: Arabic and Latin.
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3004

Postby MamaPata » Mon May 15, 2017 6:21 pm