Most difficult to understand spoken language? in terms of listening comprehension.

General discussion about learning languages
drp9341
Orange Belt
Languages: Native: English (US)
C1/C2: Spanish, Italian
B2+: Portuguese
B2: French, Polish
A1: Russian, German
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=5978

Most difficult to understand spoken language? in terms of listening comprehension.

Postby drp9341 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:03 am

So throughout my language learning journey, I've realized that I have had a much more difficult time understanding certain languages than others.

For example, about 4 years ago I completed Assimil French, and could speak read and write quite well. I was studying French at the same time I took my first phonetics class at university, and I studied the sounds of french; I was no stranger to how French sounded. I shadowed the Assimil lessons, and my French conversation partners often complimented me on my accent.

Despite this, I had a very hard time understanding spoken French. Native media was almost entirely incomprehensible except for a the occasional string of words that I heard. I even read Camus' "L'étranger" twice, the second time reading along while listening to the audiobook. It wasn't until I started watching "Français Authentique" videos that I finally got the hang of understanding spoken French.

German on the other hand, I got to about lesson 40 of assimil, and only put about 3 months of work into it total. However, when I heard German, I could hear all the words I knew perfectly. Unlike French, where I "knew" all the words but couldn't make out what was being said.

Therefore, I found German was much easier in terms of listening comprehension than French was.