Learning the Oslo dialect

General discussion about learning languages
desitrader
Orange Belt
Languages: .
Native / bilingual: English, Bengali.
Fluent: Hindi.
Learning: German (B2), Italian (A2+), Japanese (A1-), Norwegian (A1-).

Learning the Oslo dialect

Postby desitrader » Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:33 am

Hi all,
Can anyone recommend some good comprehensive materials to learn the Oslo dialect? I started learning Bokmål, but I am now thinking I am probably better off going straight to the most widely spoken dialect rather than a written language.

I need materials from the ground-up and I'd prefer resources either in English or German - rather than monolingual ones.

Thank you.
0 x

Tillumadoguenirurm
Orange Belt
Languages: English

Re: Learning the Oslo dialect

Postby Tillumadoguenirurm » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:08 pm

Hiya.

The dialect they speak around Oslo and that part of the country is the one that is closest to Bokmål (more or less spoken version of Bokmål). I doubt that there are any material specifically for that area, there just isn't any need for it.
1 x

desitrader
Orange Belt

Postby desitrader » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:37 pm

Tillumadoguenirurm wrote:Hiya.

The dialect they speak around Oslo and that part of the country is the one that is closest to Bokmål (more or less spoken version of Bokmål). I doubt that there are any material specifically for that area, there just isn't any need for it.

Thanks. That's good news.

Slightly off topic question: If I walked into a shop around Oslo and started speaking in Bokmål, how weird would I sound? Is the situation as bad as speaking in Modern Standard Arabic to a native Arabic speaker, or better?
0 x

jeff_lindqvist
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: sv, en
de, es
ga, eo
---
fi, yue, ro, tp, cy, kw, pt, sk
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2773

Postby jeff_lindqvist » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:44 pm