Hey, did you ever study in Cairo AUC?
0 x

anamsc
Yellow Belt
Languages: English, español, català, français, Deutsch
Learning: italiano, (Malti, ру́сский)

Re: Proven ways to get a native-like accent

Postby anamsc » Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:54 am

Unfortunately, I don't have any tried and true method. But I did try that method from the Swedish doctor, and I can tell you that it certainly did not give me a native accent. I did it when I started studying French, which remains the language in which I have the worst accent. It's definitely possible that I didn't do the method correctly. However, I've gotten better results with specific phonetics and phonology study combined with intensive and extensive listening.
2 x

tangleweeds
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
beginner: Irish
clearing cobwebs: Japanese
on the shelf: French, Latin
wanderlust: Norwegian, Vietnamese
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=705

Postby tangleweeds » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:05 am

Book time with professional speech therapist or accent coach in your target language.

If that's not feasible, at least use some kind of technology that allows you to listen to a native speaking a sentence or phrase, record yourself repeating it as accurately as you can, and then compare yourself to the native speaker. And do it over and over again. Anki lets you do this.
2 x
Neurological odyssey is going better! Yay!

garyb
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: Native: English
Advanced: Italian, French
Intermediate: Spanish
Beginner: German, Japanese
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1855

Postby garyb » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:59 am

That would be Olle Kjellin's "Accent Addition" method.