Discount from reusing original course to reboot (long dormant) language? (Japanese)

General discussion about learning languages
tangleweeds
Green Belt
Languages: English (N)
beginner: Irish
clearing cobwebs: Japanese
on the shelf: French, Latin
wanderlust: Norwegian, Vietnamese
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=705

Discount from reusing original course to reboot (long dormant) language? (Japanese)

Postby tangleweeds » Sat Jan 09, 2016 11:33 pm

Back in the '90's the Japanese department I studied under for three years used Eleanor Harz Jorden's Japanese:The Spoken Language. It wasn't a course I'd particularly recommend; at the time it totally stressed me out, though my grades were fine. In the end it left me functionally illiterate, with a firm belief that romaji are the work of the devil. :twisted: So I've chosen Minna no Nihongo as first textbook, so I can avoid seeing English or Romaji unless I go looking for them. Everything is fine there.

However, JSL has inexpensive textbooks, the audio files are officially freely available online, and man, I seriously drilled myself on that stuff, at night as I lay in bed with insomnia, in the morning with my coffee... After all that drilling, I suspect I could reawaken memories at a pretty good discount. I don't want to re-learn the course in any deep way, but it seems like these old memory traces should be good for leveraging something somehow.

But... romaji! :twisted: Have they already done all the damage to me that they can so it's no harm revisiting them? :lol: Or should I obey my first instincts and avoid them like the plague? :o

Has anyone had the opportunity to revisit the first textbook they studied a language with? Is it worthwhile to revisit a pre-travelled path?
0 x
Neurological odyssey is going better! Yay!

reineke
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: Fox (C4)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=6979

Re: Discount from reusing original course to reboot (long dormant) language?