How do you set realistic goals in language learning?

General discussion about learning languages
BlauGras
White Belt
Languages: English (N), German (learning)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... hp?t=18926

How do you set realistic goals in language learning?

Postby BlauGras » Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:54 pm

Hi everyone,

I am new to language learning and aim to go from 0 to B1 in German this year. My native language is English, and German is my first foreign language. On the 17th of March, it will mark a month since I started to learn German, putting in 1 hour a day minimum, up to around 2.5 hours a day on many days. Before this, I spent lots of time watching videos and browsing forums and subreddits on language learning before jumping into Assimil (which I am almost halfway through). My stretch goal for 2023 is to take the London centre's B1 German exam in December.

However, how do I assess whether my goals related to language learning are realistic? Some people mention this site: https://autolingual.com/study-time-calculator/ or even go off the CEFR learning hours as a rough guide. But is there a consensus on how long the average learner can go up a level or is it highly variable?

The purpose of this thread is to see how people go about setting realistic language learning goals.
0 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: How do you set realistic goals in language learning?

Postby rdearman » Fri Mar 10, 2023 4:24 pm

It is highly variable, it can be effected by motivation, intelligence, prior knowledge such as native language grammar knowledge, etc, etc,

Although it is very hard, I would probably set a goal based on the number of hours studied, rather than anything else. And study shouldn't mean watching TV or listening to radio, although those must also be done.