I am looking for a coach or a mentor

General discussion about learning languages
mjb1971
White Belt
Languages: English (N), French (B1 Reading), Spanish (B1 Reading), German (A1 Reading), Korean (B2 Reading), Chinese (A1 Reading), Japanese (B1 Reading), Turkish (something), Russian (something), Amharic (ohhhh Amharic)

I am looking for a coach or a mentor

Postby mjb1971 » Tue Mar 07, 2023 1:11 am

Hello!

tldr; Motivated, if scattered, student with disciplined study habits-ish seeks a coach or mentor to check in with on study routines.

Long time lurker here. Long time dabbler at the A1-A2 levels in French, Spanish, German, Korean, Chinese (much less), Japanese (a bit higher), Amharic (oh, Amharic), Arabic (biggest regret), now Turkish (much lower) and Russian (much lower).

I have used many online tutors. Some have been great, some have been not so great. To be fair, I am a picky student and am particular about how I spend my money in the lessons. I do believe in input method and I do think that output should be carefully used at the beginning levels.

I have daily study habits, for my solo time it is reading and listening. The usual suspects: Assimil, Colloquial series, DLI, graded readers and parallel texts are what I aim for. I also use dedicated listening platforms such as Rosetta and Pimsleur, though not as robustly.

Biggest fear: that I am wasting time. I seek someone to check in with from time to time to say "hey, I have been spending my past two weeks on Assimil, but am getting bored...any ideas?" I do not think this check in needs to be language specific. More about habits and practice. Anyways. Just throwing this out there.

Thanks!

MJB
2 x

jimmy
Green Belt
Languages: ...

Re: I am looking for a coach or a mentor

Postby jimmy » Tue Mar 07, 2023 10:04 am

mjb1971 wrote:Hello!

I do believe in input method and I do think that output should be carefully used at the beginning levels.

Thanks!

MJB