The argument for jumping straight into reading whatever you like, even as a total novice

General discussion about learning languages
Khayyam
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), German (strong receptive, weak active), Persian (novice), American sign language (novice)

The argument for jumping straight into reading whatever you like, even as a total novice

Postby Khayyam » Sun Nov 27, 2022 7:41 am

Opinion: as soon as you've learned the alphabet of your TL, you should immediately jump in to reading things that actually interest you (while listening to a fluent reader read them, of course). Of course you've got to build the fundamentals as well, but there's no reason you shouldn't also be like Mario and go down a secret pipe that leads you to an advanced level where no one gave you permission to be. You'll have to look up every single word as you go along, and maybe spend 20 minutes wracking your brain over some of them if there's no good translation in your native language, but that sort of strain is great for making new words stick. And you're doing something COOL. While other beginners are learning how to introduce themselves and ask where the bathroom is, you may start right off by learning a slick idiom.

Thoughts?

Edit: If I ever go to Iran and am unable to ask where the bathroom is, I'm sure I'll rue this day.
1 x
Das Leben ist ein langer, roter Fluss
Die Klinge ist mein Segelboot

leosmith
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N)
Spanish (adv)
French (int)
German (int)
Japanese (int)
Korean (int)
Mandarin (int)
Portuguese (int)
Russian (int)
Swahili (int)
Tagalog (int)
Thai (int)

Re: The argument for jumping straight into reading whatever you like, even as a total novice

Postby leosmith » Sun Nov 27, 2022 9:51 am

Khayyam wrote:Opinion: as soon as you've learned the alphabet of your TL, you should immediately jump in to reading things that actually interest you (while listening to a fluent reader read them, of course).