If you speak two related languages (NL/DE, IT/ES, SV/NO/DK, etc.) to a high level (B2+), does interference still occur?

General discussion about learning languages
Ug_Caveman
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), Dutch (A2 - July 2021), working towards B1

If you speak two related languages (NL/DE, IT/ES, SV/NO/DK, etc.) to a high level (B2+), does interference still occur?

Postby Ug_Caveman » Tue Sep 13, 2022 3:32 pm

This is merely a philosophical question that's been going around my head for a little while - which is, is it possible for a foreign speaker of two very closely related languages to ever be free of interference?

A few months ago I studied a bit of basic German just out of curiosity. Most of the language was actually OK despite my much longer history with Dutch, but I had two big issues that kept popping up.

I would almost always say "niet" for "nicht" and "lucht" for "luft", I made a few other errors but these two were by far the most persistent and the only ones which proved to be really troublesome when trying to articulate speech. I suspect that had I tried to go further, more issues like these would have arisen.

My question to more experienced learners who speak two closely related languages to a higher level, do you still have any specific issues of interference that always seem to pop up? Or as time and skill move forward, do these issues begin to subside and you proudly feel like you've summited Language-Everest?
2 x
Languages: English (N), Dutch (passed A2 exam in May 2021, failed B1 in May 2023 - never sit an exam when you have food poisoning!)

Seeking: Linguaphone Polish and Linguaphone Afrikaans

Le Baron
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: English (N), fr, nl, de, eo, Sranantongo,
Maintaining: es, swahili.
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=18796

Re: If you speak two related languages (NL/DE, IT/ES, SV/NO/DK, etc.) to a high level (B2+), does interference still occ

Postby Le Baron » Tue Sep 13, 2022 4:10 pm