Immersion: Replacing all NL entertainment with TL?

General discussion about learning languages
TopDog_IK
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), German (B2/C1)

Immersion: Replacing all NL entertainment with TL?

Postby TopDog_IK » Thu Sep 08, 2022 9:40 pm

I'm wondering if any one else has tried this, or has thoughts on using this approach to acquire a second language?

The basic idea is just to do one simple trick: replace all of your NL entertainment (or nearly all) with TL entertainment -- shows, movies, comics, video games, gaming streams, youtube, books, etc. Aside from a bit of SRS and Glossika in the early days (representing less than 1% of my time with the language) this is roughly what I have been doing for the last two years with German, mostly with anime dubs. I've been very happy with my comprehension gains and how enjoyable the entire process has been. For me, it's been essentially effortless, because I like these German shows so much. These days, it's very difficult for me to watch any shows or movies in my native English, because it seems like "a waste of time". On the other hand, even if I am watching silly shows in German, to me, this feels like I'm making some kind of progress, "moving the ball down the field". I had to start off with very easy children's shows and books but after about 6 months I was able to watch slice-of-life German anime dubs without too much trouble. My comprehension has been growing very steadily the entire time.

One caveat: in my opinion, this requires at least a couple of hours per day to really make substantial progress. But since the average American watches 5+ hours of TV per day anyway, the goal of watching TL entertainment for a couple of hours of a day seems within reach for many?
4 x

tungemål
Blue Belt
Languages: Norwegian (N)
English, German, Spanish, Japanese, Dutch, Polish
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17672

Re: Immersion: Replacing all NL entertainment with TL?