Assimil - Current generation vs the older With Ease and Without Toil versions

General discussion about learning languages
cc05
Languages: English (N), Spanish (A1)

Assimil - Current generation vs the older With Ease and Without Toil versions

Postby cc05 » Sat Jul 23, 2022 12:48 pm

So I'm a long time beginner in Spanish. I've played around off and on with apps and other things and have recently decided to get serious and tackle an actual structured course. I've long seen Assimil recommended for self study and figure that would be a good place to start alog with the other main resource I'm using mentioned down below. The main question I have is which version of Assimil to pick (I'm learning Spanish). I'm assuming my choices would be the current version (2014/2017 I believe), the 80s With Ease version, and the earlier Without Toil version (I believe it''s from the 50s maybe). Any opinions or advice on which to start with?

Just for some added details, I was blessed to get a copy of the 1970s Linguaphone course, which I recently started and am loving. I'm only a couple lessons in, but it's been great. I was a little nervous about dated language, but a friend of mine swears by the series and convinced me to take a look. I really like much more detailed the Linguaphone course is than the currently Teach Yourself book I initially considered started by abandoned when I picked up Linguaphone. I figure Assimil would be a nice compliment. I bring this up to say that I don't mind courses being older if the quality is there since I'll get plenty of current vocab from native materials when I get more advanced. I'm a little iffy on the Without Toil series being a bit too old, but I will consider if it seems like it's worth it.

Anyways I've really enjoyed a lot of the discussion I see here and I look forward to any feedback the community has on my question. Thanks all!
1 x

bolaobo
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Mandarin Chinese, German, French