definition of fluent

General discussion about learning languages
miles
White Belt
Languages: english (n) B2 French and fished pimsleur 3 spanish. i want to be fluent in some way in spanish in 2 years.

definition of fluent

Postby miles » Sat Jul 16, 2022 6:41 am

Hi,
I am new here. I looked around the forum for previous posts on this subject but wasn’t able to search efficiently.

I am currently studying spanish on my own with pimsleur/ MT / and FSI.
My wife is first language spanish and second language english and our baby is 10 month and we are approaching a bilingual philosophy.

I would like to be fluent in spanish. But what is fluency? I would like to set better more defined goal posts by creating a definition of fluency for myself to work towards.
0 x

Cenwalh
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (C1), Catalan (B2).
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=12467

Re: definition of fluent

Postby Cenwalh » Sat Jul 16, 2022 7:41 am

miles wrote:But what is fluency? I would like to set better more defined goal posts by creating a definition of fluency for myself to work towards.

Hi miles, welcome to the forum.

There is no set definition of fluency, and as you approach it, you'll realise that it is an ever moving goal post. You feel like you're close forever, and then once you sort of get there, you still don't actually feel it.

I would suggest you look into CEFR levels which are how we in Europe (and all over the Internet) define language abilities as a better type of goal, but if you want a really good goal, then you could look into SMART goals. What SMART stands for varies depending on who you ask, but basically it's about what you put in over a given time rather than what you get out.