Rate this translation (please comment and critique)

General discussion about learning languages
ab2
Languages: Eng (N), ASL (Fluent), Spanish (Adv), Mandarin Chinese (Beginner), Korean (beginner), French (used to be intermediate, but forgotten a lot!)

Rate this translation (please comment and critique)

Postby ab2 » Sun May 08, 2022 8:29 pm

Excerpt from a book about the political history of Paraguay. I'm wanting a criquite overall, but definitely wanting clarification about the parts in bold.

Spanish (original):

"Para mi detractor yo era un agente del Kremlin devorador de niños de pecho. De ahí se seguió una polémica en el Boletín en que intervinieron varios historidades, menos el suscripto, que haciendo gala de su afección por la libertad de expresión, el Instituo vetó la publicación de una respuesta por mí solicitada. De esa polémica participó Fermín Chávez, que estampó lo siguente" end.

English:
"To my detractor, I was a Kremlin agent devouring infants / To my detractor, I was an infant-eating Kremlin agent. From there, a controversy sparked in el Boletín in which various stories, excepting el suscripto (excepting the undersigned? Is "menos el" is "not including" / "except for" or is it "including"? also "el suscripto" -- que significa? Help with the whole "menos el suscripto" statement lollllll), intervened and made a peanut gallery (?) of freedom of speech (Have you ever heard of "gala de su afección"? Is that intended to be a direct translation for "gala of their affection" or is "peanut gallery" accurate?), the Institute vetoed the publication in response to my request / the institute vetoed the publication as per my request. Fermín Chávez participated in this controversy by printing the following/who printed the following:" end.

//

What Google says lol