Modern open source alternative to LWT, lingq etc

General discussion about learning languages
languagedev
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish(C1), French(B1)

Modern open source alternative to LWT, lingq etc

Postby languagedev » Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:41 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a fellow language enthusiast, I've been learning languages for more than 10 years and have studied several languages. I used to use Learning With Texts back in the day, I've also used LingQ and several alternatives, but I always felt like there was something missing from each of those projects. Lately, I've been studying web development, me and some other devs are working on the beginning stages of a project that means a lot to me. I want to develop a modern, free, open-source alternative to LingQ, LWT, etc.

We are currently in the design stages and I'm wondering what are the most important things to you? What do you feel an app like this should do well? For example, would it be important for you to be able to add little know languages like LWT does? Is having access to community translations important to you (like LingQ) or do you prefer to use a dictionary so you can choose the best translation yourself? Do you prefer that unknown words are highlighted, or only words that you have clicked on?

Any suggestions please feel free to let me know here, and thanks in advance!
2 x

Henkkles
Green Belt
Languages: N FI | A EN SV | I EE RU | B FR LN

Re: Modern open source alternative to LWT, lingq etc

Postby Henkkles » Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:27 pm

Wiktionary lookup with etymology and declension table, if those are available/relevant. Easy way to see all sentences where you've seen the same word before!
4 x

languagedev
White Belt

Postby languagedev » Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:34 pm

TSS42 wrote:Completely cloud-based, no local installation.
Text marking and labelling.
Easy dictionary integration out of the box.
Doesn't go mad and marks everything as new, like 'yes', 'no', 'but',...