Did you also experience that you forget some words in new (foreign) language when you do not use it or do not study?

General discussion about learning languages
jimmy
Green Belt
Languages: ...

Did you also experience that you forget some words in new (foreign) language when you do not use it or do not study?

Postby jimmy » Thu Nov 25, 2021 8:33 pm

I experienced that some words (especially the words that are not in common usage) were being forgotten.
so, can we say that we would have to work hard and/or harder ?
1 x
Self Taught - Autodidactic

alaart
Green Belt
Languages: DE (N), EN
B1: NL, JP, PT (BR), ZH
A2: KR
A1: ES
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... hp?t=10867

Re: Did you also experience that you forget some words in new (foreign) language when you do not use it or do not study?

Postby alaart » Fri Nov 26, 2021 6:56 am

It's normal, just learn them again, and again, eventually they will stick.

At beginner and intermediate level, what I'm doing to combat this with flash cards is that each time I look up a word that is already in my database, I'll add a sample from a sentence (mostly the ones I just encountered, but also from dictionaries or google search), I also reactivate all previous sentences containing this word.

At an advanced level where you don't necessarily do flash cards, you could try to read material about the same topic as your target word that you keep forgetting. Eventually, inside this topic it gets repeated much more often, and so it will eventually stick too.
2 x

Sonjaconjota
Green Belt
Languages: German (N) - English, Spanish, Catalan (advanced) - French, Dutch, Italian (intermediate) - Turkish (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 24#p192024

Re: Did you also experience that you forget some words in new (foreign) language when you do not use it or do not study?

Postby Sonjaconjota » Fri Nov 26, 2021 7:02 am