realities & fallacies

General discussion about learning languages
jimmy
Green Belt
Languages: ...

realities & fallacies

Postby jimmy » Fri Nov 12, 2021 3:28 pm

you can provide your own realities and fallacies (whatever you detected & experienced). you can also criticize the stuffes I or someone else give.

--->> to believe that it would be impossible to learn after a defined period of time (i.e. "age") is a fallacy.
I had taught my over 70 age old mother somethings perfectly.

---->> you can learn something well either by travelling abroad or reading.
1 x
Self Taught - Autodidactic

luke
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N). Spanish (intermediate), Esperanto (B1), French (intermediate but rusting)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16948

Re: realities & fallacies

Postby luke » Fri Nov 12, 2021 5:01 pm

"That'll never work. It's nonsense." - Reality: I'm not into motivation literature, but I'm quite apprised of individual differences and detect some self-centeredness and lack of investigation and imagination on the part of the fallacy maker :lol:
1 x
: 124 / 124 Cien años de soledad 20x
: 5479 / 5500 5500 pages - Reading
: 51 / 55 FSI Basic Spanish 3x
: 309 / 506 Camino a Macondo

Le Baron
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: English (N), fr, nl, de, eo, Sranantongo,
Maintaining: es, swahili.
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=18796

Postby Le Baron » Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:37 pm

luke wrote:"That'll never work. It's nonsense." - Reality: I'm not into motivation literature, but I'm quite apprised of individual differences and detect some self-centeredness and lack of investigation and imagination on the part of the fallacy maker :lol:

I'm feeling addressed!
1 x

tungemål
Blue Belt
Languages: Norwegian (N)
English, German, Spanish, Japanese, Dutch, Polish
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17672

Postby tungemål » Sat Nov 13, 2021 12:34 pm

Fallacy: I think I know English