What now?

General discussion about learning languages
queenkatherine__
Languages: Hungarian (C2), English (C1), French (A2)

What now?

Postby queenkatherine__ » Thu Aug 05, 2021 9:54 pm

Okay, so my story is a tricky one. First, I started learning Spanish, and it was going smoothly and amazingly. Then, I was like, I'll try French since Spanish is going so well. And I completely fell in love with French. And I left my Spanish. So, what now? Should I get to c1 in French (which'll take around a year) or learn both Spanish and French at the same time? I'm definitely more advanced in Spanish, but if I leave French for even a week, I feel like I'll lose my entire progress, since French requires so much attention. Should I ''finish'' learning French and only then pick up Spanish, or should I learn both at the same time?
0 x

Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

Re: What now?

Postby Deinonysus » Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:33 pm

I switch languages a lot and my general observation is that whatever level I have reached with a language, it will rust a bit but I will never lose it, and if I haven't used a language in a while and get rusty it usually takes me a couple of weeks to review and get back to my previous level. You certainly won't lose everything you've learned if you don't reach C1. I'm maybe around a B2 in French and I can drop it for months and still be able to pick up a French book and read it. Spoken French is a bit trickier, when I get rusty it takes me a week or two of watching the news every day before I can understand it for extended periods without a lot of effort.

I personally prefer to work on one language at a time, but if you're able to set up a routine where you're able to make good progress in both I don't see any harm in it. You can always adjust your routine as you go along depending on your motivation, time availability, and goals.