Best App for language learning

General discussion about learning languages
rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Best App for language learning

Postby rdearman » Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:58 pm

I don't want to start a flame war. But I do want to ask people to compare and contrast the different apps available for languages. Not too long ago I did a review of Clozemaster after someone did a full thoughtful review of Duolingo (which I cannot find). I did find a fairly negative thread about Duolingo(disclaimer, I have never used Duolingo). I know there are other apps Anki, Tandem, HelloChinese, etc. I was wondering about a compare and contrast thread. For example:

I like X because it opens your brain and pours the language in, but you end up with a scar. I haven't tried Y, because it injects the language via intravenous drip, and I don't like needles. For me, the best one was Z because it just shoots radio waves into your brain while you sleep.

Anyone every used two different apps which do basically the same thing? What are the pros and cons of each, and which do you recommend?
7 x
: 0 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

Cavesa
Black Belt - 4th Dan
Languages: Czech (N), French (C2) English (C1), Italian (C1), Spanish, German (C1)

Re: Best App for language learning

Postby Cavesa » Tue Jul 06, 2021 5:33 pm

Well, I'd agree a big part of the problem is putting tons of totally different kinds of apps into one category. It's like asking "what is the best book for language learning". It depends on what kind of it. Comparing similar apps makes more sense