How to Approach Learning Verb Conjugations

General discussion about learning languages
FeoGringo
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (beginner)

How to Approach Learning Verb Conjugations

Postby FeoGringo » Mon Jul 05, 2021 1:56 pm

I am a beginner Spanish learner and after over a year of haphazard studying I have finally decided I need to put some focus on learning verb conjugations. The only memories of having learned verb conjugations in the past was high school French, looking at tables (je, tu vous, nous). It always seemed very inefficient in terms of language production and really having the correct conjugations at your fingertips. I stumbled upon this quote (from a website for a guy who created a very extensive Spanish Conjugation Anki Deck) and it struck a chord with me:

From learning to conjugate German — and Spanish without the benefit of this deck — what I observed is that when I used a book to review conjugations, each tense became a sort of "song" or "nursery rhyme". For instance, for haber, I would end up memorizing the present tense as this "song": He, has, ha. Hemos, habéis, han.

The result was that when I would need to produce the words "they have", I would find myself mentally repeating that little song until getting to han. Obviously, this is not optimal. What you want is direct, random access to conjugated verbs.

So my questions are:
1) What is the best way for "direct, random access to conjugated verbs"?
2) What is everyone's preferred method to tackle verb conjugations?
0 x

白田龍
Orange Belt
Languages: English, Portuguese, Spanish, Catalan, French, Persian, Arabic, Mandarin, Japanese.

Re: How to Approach Learning Verb Conjugations

Postby 白田龍 » Mon Jul 05, 2021 3:48 pm

I'm inclined to sell the passive first approach. Leave it till after you can read books and understand spoken speech without much trouble. It will still have its difficulties, but it will be way easier.
4 x

smallwhite
Black Belt - 2nd Dan