Language Learning plan over the next few years

General discussion about learning languages
Walinator
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Dari Farsi (N), Arabic (Beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17013

Language Learning plan over the next few years

Postby Walinator » Fri Jun 18, 2021 2:03 pm

Hello everyone! I have been lurking on this forum and the old HTLAL forum for the past couple of weeks now and it is a little bit overwhelming how little I know about language learning. For this reason, I am approaching the honorable ladies and gentlemen of this forum for some advice regarding my future plans. The goal is to eventually learn Persian, Arabic, and Turkish by 2023.

BACKGROUND:

I am a 20 years old student pursuing a Masters in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies in the US. I was born in the US, but lived in Poland from the age of 2 to 6, then returned to the US, where I remain till this day. As I grew up in Poland, I went to the Canadian School of Warsaw (where I learned English) and spoke Persian at home with my parents (both immigrants from Afghanistan). By the time I left Poland, I was fluent in English, Persian, and Polish, but unfortunately after a couple of years I completely lost my knowledge of Polish due to lack of practice. This left me with two languages, which I have maintained up until today (One caveat here is that while I have native level fluency in Persian with regards to speaking and listening, I am probably only at an intermediate level with regards to reading and writing). While I have traveled in the past, I never felt any real desire to learn and explore new languages or cultures, however, recently this has changed. This is primarily due to the fact that I have warmed up to the possibility that I could pursue a PhD in Middle Eastern or Islamic Studies, something that would require extensive knowledge of at least Arabic, Persian, and Turkish. I have spent the last few months putting some time towards wor