Crazy language learning experiments

General discussion about learning languages
rpg
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (B2), French (B2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8368

Crazy language learning experiments

Postby rpg » Fri May 21, 2021 3:16 am

I'm interested in hearing about crazy language learning experiments people have tried over the years, and as I wasn't around in the HTLAL days I thought I'd turn to the collective wisdom of these forums.

By "crazy" I mean methods that are unusual, unexpected, and/or possibly a little extreme. Here are some examples that immediately come to mind:

The L-R method as originally intended would also fall into this bucket, though I'm not sure if there any logs of anyone actually attempting this (doing many long sessions as a complete beginner).

I'm starting this thread because I was thinking in the shower how one could try to marathon Pimsleur; a language with a 5-level course would have 150 half-hour lessons = 75 hours, and one could conceivably try to blitz through these back to back in some compressed time period (like a week or two). Has anyone ever tried anything like that?
11 x
Super challenge 2020/21
French reading: 4534 / 5000      Spanish reading: 81 / 5000
French movies: 115 / 150       Spanish movies: 98 / 150

jeff_lindqvist
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: sv, en
de, es
ga, eo
---
fi, yue, ro, tp, cy, kw, pt, sk
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2773

Re: Crazy language learning experiments

Postby jeff_lindqvist » Fri May 21, 2021 7:23 am

There's more in HTLAL vs. LLORG. Also Assimil Hebrew in two weeks (link somewhere in that thread).

I know I went through FSI German vol 1 and 2 (24 units in total) in just two weeks many years ago...
11 x
Leabhair/Greannáin léite as Gaeilge: 9 / 18
Ar an seastán oíche: Oileán an Órchiste
Duolingo - finished trees: sp/ga/de/fr/pt/it
Finnish with extra pain : 100 / 100

Llorg Blog - Wiki - Discord

Ug_Caveman
Green Belt