How much time to spend daily for B2->C1

General discussion about learning languages
desperatemonolingual
Languages: English (N), European Spanish (C1, tested), Portuguese (low B1, estimated)

How much time to spend daily for B2->C1

Postby desperatemonolingual » Sat Oct 03, 2020 11:01 pm

I'm frustrated with my learning plateau (and even regression) and I've decided that I cannot be complacent with my B2 anymore and that I need to really step up my passive learning and restart active learning. I would really enjoy it if the English language just disappeared for a 6 to 12 month period, but unfortunately that's not really a possibility. I'm wondering how I can balance my time successfuly to learn fast. My plan looks a bit like this, I'd love any feedback you might have.

Minimizing my use of English
- I'm a student at an English speaking university and I live in an almost entirely monolingual environment. I have to talk to my family in English. None my friends or associates speak my TL well enough to have a useful conversation with. The biggest thing I can cut out here is my consumption of English language entertainment. I feel guilty anytime I read or watch something in English, but it can be so downright difficult to find enough entertainment in the worlds 2nd most spoken language by number of native speakers. Cutting out English entertainment is going to be a real hassle, but I'm going to commit my self to not consume anything

Aggresively reading books.